Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Speedometter S1000R doubt  (Read 462 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tuningxtreme

  • S1000R Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: br
Speedometter S1000R doubt
« on: November 26, 2019, 02:10:13 PM »
Unscrew my lousy English.
I would like to know if the s1000r 2017 by 2020 dashboard works on the S1000R 2014?

I had an accident and my panel's LCD broke.

Offline Zig Zag

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2016 Black Storm
  • City / Town: Virginia
Re: Speedometter S1000R doubt
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2019, 02:42:33 PM »
Just looked it up and they have different part numbers. By the looks of the superseded part numbers the 2020 model has a different dash than even a 2017 model (beyond a certain date). You can double check me - I used the Max BMW parts page, a great resource.
Sorry to hear you had an accident hope you are well.
You should remember that its peace of mind youre after and not just a fixed machine.
Robert Persig

Offline Wullie

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: scotland
  • Bike: S1000R Sport
  • City / Town: LIVINGSTON
Re: Speedometter S1000R doubt
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2019, 04:31:31 PM »
I would assume they are different since the electronics on the 17+ models are different. Would mean slightly different menus and displays?  Just a guess though.

Offline zombie

  • S1000R Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 780
  • Country: ca
  • Bike: 2017 S1000R
  • City / Town: Oromocto
Re: Speedometter S1000R doubt
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2019, 10:25:30 PM »
Guaranteed they are not a simple "plug n' play" swap. Otherwise you'd just buy the display instead of a new bike.

Offline starpower

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 340
  • Country: us
  • Bike: '14 S1KR, ZeroS
  • City / Town: Potter Valley
Re: Speedometter S1000R doubt
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2019, 04:38:26 PM »
It is my understanding that the cluster is married to the ECU it came with.
"The most beautiful things in the world are those from which all excess weight has been eliminated" - Henry Ford I, 1893

Offline virtualsj

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Country: au
  • Bike: BMW 2015 S1000R
  • City / Town: Lake Macquarie
Re: Speedometter S1000R doubt
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2019, 03:36:26 AM »
*Originally Posted by starpower [+]
It is my understanding that the cluster is married to the ECU it came with.
To put a replacement cluster (it's actually a Kombi) you need to use ISTA+ to add it to the system and set the Odometer. You should be able to use the 2020 Kombi in earlier models although not sure what it will display where the inlet temperature is.

Offline Meguerra

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2016 BMW S1000R
  • City / Town: Temecula
Re: Speedometter S1000R doubt
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2019, 03:56:35 AM »
I have a 2014-16 cluster that came off a 2015 S1000R I will sell for cheap. It has 4300 miles on it. You will need to have a BMW dealer match the odometer reading on the cluster to your ECU's recorded mileage otherwise the total mileage reading on the cluster will blink if they do not match up. Just PM me your city and postal code in Brazil and I will check on shipping cost.

 


Recent Posts/Topics