Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Another rear axle thread ...  (Read 1783 times)

Offline Fallout

• S1000R Junior
  • Bike: S1000R, DRZ400
  • City / Town: Southampton
Another rear axle thread ...
« on: September 01, 2018, 07:36:29 PM »
Hi guys. Noob here, and this is my first post. I realise there is a rear axle thread about 2.3mm from this one (at time of writing), and I've read it and I did indeed rejoice at the happy ending.  :047: I thought I'd post a new one though, because I wanted to a) release the frustration to people who may (or may not care  :027: :001:, b) share my ridiculous axle pull method, and most importantly c) see if anyone thinks something more sinister is up and help me with ideas.

So like the other thread, my tyre was due for a change. Not only did it have -35mm of tread, but it has magically acquired a machete sized gouge in it while quietly sat in the garage (there are some big spiders in there, so I am guessing they're responsible). Fortunately I didn't ride off with my 1 atmosphere PSI. Anyway, come this weekend I had time to whip the wheel off and head down the garage for a new tyre. I had the same old sticky situation as mentioned elsewhere, and no amount of wood and hammer, penetrating oil, or horrific harsh language would get it to budge. I even got a map gas torch and literally set the axle on fire before dousing it with water and turning the whole garage into a Turkish steam bath. The whole back of the bike popped and creaked as it got as hot as the sun before cooling, and if the bearings in the wheel were good, they're now probably moulten lava. This still made no difference, and I'd splintered all the wood I had into shrapnel already and my hammer hand was definitely done for the day.