Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?  (Read 3215 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dans

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2006;GSXR 1000
  • City / Town: Chicago, IL
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2018, 01:10:15 PM »
Paul,
One last question.  Is it ok to add more preload so only one line (ring)is showing under the nut?  Again, the zip tie is just a few mm from the bottom of the fork.  Thank you. 

Offline Paul

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000R 2017
  • City / Town: HULL
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2018, 02:11:43 PM »
Yes of course. It will stop turning once fully wound in. Just make sure that you keep within 6 to 10mm range if poss and try to keep the bike balanced ie if you have 10mm at the front go to the higher setting at the rear ie 24mm. This keeps the bike balanced and the DDC works best then. I had issues with the DDC trying to compensate for front rear balance issues and it was a mega harsh ride. Get it balanced and in spec and youll love it!
« Last Edit: June 11, 2018, 02:12:25 PM by Paul »

Offline Dans

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2006;GSXR 1000
  • City / Town: Chicago, IL
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2018, 04:17:07 AM »
Paul,
Thank you for all your help.  Today I rode 247 Miles on bumpy Wisconsin roads and the ride was really harsh.  I spent the day taking preload out of the front and rear and the bike slowly started to feel better.   Also, I felt more of the DDC working in Dynamic mode so things are getting better.  Once I get home I will do a more formal sag evaluation and get preload set by someone who knows what they are doing.   

Offline Paul

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000R 2017
  • City / Town: HULL
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2018, 07:16:15 AM »
No problem. Just one last thing. If the roads are really poor try "road" mode for the day. I use it a lot on our poor uk roads and it soaks bumps up really well. I save "dynamic" mode for the smooth roads or for really pushing on.

Offline SimonUK

  • S1000R Grand Master
  • *****
  • Posts: 3110
  • Country: us
  • Bike: S1000XR, S1000R
  • City / Town: Upstate SC
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2018, 12:38:58 PM »
@Dans

You really do not need a specialist to set your 'rider SAG'. Read the manual, setting your rider SAG is quite clearly defined in there. Having 2 buddies to help you makes it easier(1 to hold the bike and the other to take measurements).

Online nrthrnbkr

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 466
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000R sport
  • City / Town: Manchester
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #15 on: June 12, 2018, 12:52:00 PM »
*Originally Posted by Paul [+]
No problem. Just one last thing. If the roads are really poor try "road" mode for the day. I use it a lot on our poor uk roads and it soaks bumps up really well. I save "dynamic" mode for the smooth roads or for really pushing on.

Have had similar experiences to Paul as I do a lot of different types of routes.

Loose back roads - Rain with the extra intervention
Dry roads commuting or less than decent surfaces - Road mode
General dry weather riding  - Dynamic

I set my suspension up for Dynamic.

By set up, I mean, as above, zip tie on forks just to measure on a typical ride how far the forks are compressing in Dynamic

Wound all the pre-load back - then started at 6 turns at either end - for me that made it just a little too harsh especially at the back.

It also felt as though the DDC wasn't getting the opportunity to do its stuff - it was just 'hard'

So backed off to about 3-4 at either end and that seems to serve me well (obvs everyone is different) .  This gave me a balance of smooth suspension that can still provide solid handling. I'm not 'that light' either !

I think despite the electronics it's all obviously a compromise - even with some deficiencies I think the BMW still handles like a reasonable well set up bike with very good upgraded suspension. Plus it covers a wide range of scenarios.   

So tweak and you'll find a sweet spot !
 
« Last Edit: June 12, 2018, 12:53:40 PM by nrthrnbkr »

Offline Dans

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2006;GSXR 1000
  • City / Town: Chicago, IL
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2018, 04:36:56 AM »
Nrthrnbkr,
Do you mind letting me know how much you weigh?   If you are close to me I will try with those settings.  Thanks!

Offline jjsc6

  • S1000R Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 685
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 16 S1000R
  • City / Town: Houston, Tx
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #17 on: June 14, 2018, 02:45:50 AM »
What does the engine running have to do with preload?
2016 S1000R - Gone Feb 2018
Current....
2017 KTM Superduke GT
2015 BMW 1600 GT
Ducati 1199 Panigale

Online nrthrnbkr

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 466
  • Country: gb
  • Bike: S1000R sport
  • City / Town: Manchester
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #18 on: June 14, 2018, 08:24:33 AM »
*Originally Posted by Dans [+]
Nrthrnbkr,
Do you mind letting me know how much you weigh?   If you are close to me I will try with those settings.  Thanks!

I'm a 'couple of hundred lbs' - that's all you're getting from me !  :008:

On the heavier side (it's all muscle honest!)

Once you get near to where you want to be you can just do the odd pre-load turn on the front/back just to see how it affects 'feel' and front suspension travel. 
« Last Edit: June 14, 2018, 08:29:00 AM by nrthrnbkr »

Online JaseG

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: england
  • Its not about going fast, but about having fun.
  • Bike: '17 S1000R Sport
  • City / Town: Hedon
Re: Changed Preload without engine on. Will it damage the bike?
« Reply #19 on: June 14, 2018, 10:57:48 AM »
*Originally Posted by jjsc6 [+]
What does the engine running have to do with preload?
Nothing as far as I know, but you do need to have the electrics on when setting the suspension up.
Kawasaki Z1000SX Tourer (Blue / Black) MY16
BMW S1000R Sport (Red / Black) MY17
BMW M4 (F83) CP

 


Recent Posts/Topics