Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Engine Stall  (Read 244797 times)

Offline Fig

• S1000R Junior
  • Bike: s1000r
  • City / Town: Pymble
Engine Stall
« on: April 24, 2014, 02:53:11 AM »
Just wondering if anyone else has had the engine stall while down-shifting, with the clutch in, coming to a stop? I'm new to BMW and have read a few threads in relation to the RR that mention this however most point to rider error. Quite disconcerting when you have a car on your tail.

Cheers
========================================
Update

So had my first service, use only 95 RON fuel (used to use 98 RON) and avoid downshifting into second gear to take a slow corner, making sure I'm not lazy with the clutch. Didn't happen for a month or so but then thought I'd try it again and boom, engine just dies.
========================================

Having this problem? gustavocvlho has created a questionnaire to help zero in on the problem and get something done. It can be found here: http://goo.gl/forms/aN57JASqIs
« Last Edit: July 18, 2015, 02:25:53 AM by Fig »

Offline WhiteKnite

• S1000R Pro
  • Exploring Korea
  • Bike: S1000R, R6
Re: Engine Stall
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2014, 03:52:16 AM »
I did have that happen once on this bike.  It happened a couple times on my F800ST as well, about twice in 10,000 miles.  Probably just a mild fueling error.  I wouldn't worry unless it starts happening consistently. 

Offline Fig

• S1000R Junior
  • Bike: s1000r
  • City / Town: Pymble
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2014, 03:59:50 AM »
Cool, thanks for the reply.

Offline ecosse08

• S1000R Junior
  • Bike: S1000R
  • City / Town: Perth
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2014, 04:56:03 AM »
Happened once to me too...

Offline marxman

• S1000R Member
  • Bike: 2014 S1000R Blue
  • City / Town: Eastern Mass.
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2014, 01:28:15 AM »