Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: LED kit that works in high beam housing  (Read 14777 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Swampwhore

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2015 S1000R
  • City / Town: Stuck in the mud
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2015, 05:26:58 PM »
HOLLYWOOD -

I just received mine from eBay.  They came with an adapter harness of some sort.  Did you use it on your install?  There is something on the box about these working without tripping a fault on the CANBUS.  Is that what the harness is for?

Thanks!
Twist the right grip until you see G*d....then back off...just a little bit.

Offline HOLLYW00D

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2015 S100R
  • City / Town: WI
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2015, 05:32:31 PM »
*Originally Posted by Swampwhore [+]
HOLLYWOOD -

I just received mine from eBay.  They came with an adapter harness of some sort.  Did you use it on your install?  There is something on the box about these working without tripping a fault on the CANBUS.  Is that what the harness is for?

Thanks!

I also received a pigtail/harness type thing for the 9005 side, but that just looks to be an extension.  I didn't use it; my bulbs plug in directly to the factory connectors.

Offline romoguy15

  • S1000R Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: us
  • Bike: S1000R
  • City / Town: Tennessee
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2015, 05:35:32 PM »
Don't use that adaptor because it will blow your 7.5 amp fuse. Btw once I got in there to replace the bulb, I realized it's not worth drilling a hole for the dust cover.

Offline Swampwhore

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2015 S1000R
  • City / Town: Stuck in the mud
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #23 on: May 28, 2015, 07:00:10 PM »
Thanks for the replies.

I had gone ahead and installed the one on the high beam.  Tested it briefly and didn't blow any fuses.  I just took it out and it seems to work fine.  Guess I'll leave it out!

I'm going to try just the high beam for now.  Left the LED for the low in the box.  That one came with a harness too.  They are more than an extension, there is something soldered in and heat shrunk on each of them.  Put the go pro on too so I can record the high beam on my way into work tonight.   Depending on the time of year I probably do 50-80% of my riding at night.   While it could be better, I'm satisfied with the low beam.  The high beam (after the low cuts out), sucks.  Aiming it helped a bit.  Comparison testing in the pitch dark garage shows the LED to be an improvement.  We'll see.
Twist the right grip until you see G*d....then back off...just a little bit.

Offline Swampwhore

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2015 S1000R
  • City / Town: Stuck in the mud
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #24 on: May 29, 2015, 05:49:04 AM »
Only got a few seconds of use out of the high beam on the way into work tonight. It is significantly better with the LED. Good enough that I don't think I'll bother fixing it so the low beam stays on. If someone is looking for a relatively inexpensive, reversible, 5-minute fix for the woeful high beam, this is it.
Twist the right grip until you see G*d....then back off...just a little bit.

Offline HOLLYW00D

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2015 S100R
  • City / Town: WI
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #25 on: May 29, 2015, 05:52:00 AM »
Just wait until you get the low beam LED in.  :152:

Offline Swampwhore

  • S1000R Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 342
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2015 S1000R
  • City / Town: Stuck in the mud
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #26 on: June 04, 2015, 01:27:29 PM »
Got some more time in with the high beam.  Definitely a vast improvement.  I need to adjust the height again, but the improvement over the stock bulb is considerable.  Still a bit of the tunnel effect with it, since the low is not on with it. 

I really want to put the low beam in but I am a bit hesitant due to the possibility of water intrusion.  It's the rainy season here, and while I don't plan on riding in the rain, sometimes I have no choice.  And more often than not, when I get caught out, it's coming down in buckets.  Anyone been through a downpour with without the cover on the back of the low beam housing?
Twist the right grip until you see G*d....then back off...just a little bit.

Offline Circus

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Country: us
  • Bike: S1000R, Red
  • City / Town: San Diego
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2015, 05:14:28 AM »
Did you guys power the high beam LED from the existing high beam circuit or from one of the 5A aux circuits?
Only two kinds of people in the world . . . women and children.

Offline HOLLYW00D

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Country: us
  • Bike: 2015 S100R
  • City / Town: WI
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2015, 05:32:37 AM »
No aux for me.

Offline tsunami

  • S1000R Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: ae
  • Bike: S1000R
  • City / Town: Dubai
Re: LED kit that works in high beam housing
« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2015, 05:37:50 AM »
existing circuit for me

 


Recent Posts/Topics

sociology-monitor