Author What's with the two OA canbus connectors?  (Read 41812 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

  • Offline beech   us

    • S1000R Master  ‐    806
    • ****
      #20

    Offline beech

    • S1000R Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 806
    • I change tires, you buy them on the web. $50
    • Bike: S1000R, K1300Sx2
    • City / Town: Mount Vernon, WA
    • Country: us
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #20 on: May 29, 2015, 03:17:31 pm
    May 29, 2015, 03:17:31 pm
    Thanks for the PDF. Audio connector looks interesting.

  • Offline aashu   us

    • S1000R Pro  ‐    225
    • ***
      #21

    Offline aashu

    • S1000R Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 225
    • I like what I ride and I ride what I like
    • Bike: S1000R
    • City / Town: Scotch Plains,NJ
    • Country: us
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #21 on: June 14, 2015, 09:28:02 pm
    June 14, 2015, 09:28:02 pm
    Help me out here gys. My plugs look like in picture. using a multimeter I could only get 2.3v from front plug (with purple wire and any two wire combo) Or do I need to get one signel from ground and one from one of the wires ?

  • Offline beech   us

    • S1000R Master  ‐    806
    • ****
      #22

    Offline beech

    • S1000R Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 806
    • I change tires, you buy them on the web. $50
    • Bike: S1000R, K1300Sx2
    • City / Town: Mount Vernon, WA
    • Country: us
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #22 on: June 14, 2015, 11:17:23 pm
    June 14, 2015, 11:17:23 pm
    The left one with the purple wire, I plugged into my wire connector for the OEM NAV 5 cradle. It fired up the GPS no problem. The wire colors match the OEM GPS cradle harness wire except the ground on the cradle is black. The one on the right remains a mystery to me unless it is for the infrared track lap device.

  • Offline aashu   us

    • S1000R Pro  ‐    225
    • ***
      #23

    Offline aashu

    • S1000R Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 225
    • I like what I ride and I ride what I like
    • Bike: S1000R
    • City / Town: Scotch Plains,NJ
    • Country: us
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #23 on: June 15, 2015, 02:38:39 pm
    June 15, 2015, 02:38:39 pm
    I just ended up buying this:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00WCSGRX2?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00

    Once I figure out canbus connection, I will move it from direct battery to can-bus 12v so it switches off wit bike

  • Offline memphys   sg

    • S1000R Member  ‐    38
    • **
      #24

    Offline memphys

    • S1000R Member
    • **
    • Posts: 38
    • Bike: NSR250, S1000R
    • Country: sg
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #24 on: July 03, 2015, 04:35:56 am
    July 03, 2015, 04:35:56 am
    *Originally Posted by crowep [+]
    Update just now from BMW Singapore: when they install the Nav 5 plus the local electronic tag system (IU) they basically use the single canbus connector and split it into both the Nav 5 & IU. They obviously won't do it for me because the Tomtom is not supported but where they supply the Nav 5 this is apparently what they do.

    Any reasons why I shouldn't just strip back the wire on the ground & live wires that are powering my IU and solder them to the corresponding wires for my Tomtom? I assume the IU uses so little power it won't exceed the maximum allowed. The IU is used to pay tolls electronically around the inner CBD area as well as fees for parking (clocks you in and out of the carpark and charges accordingly).

    Cheers,
    Paul

    Hey Paul,

    I'm planning to install a mini-DVR, and BMW Singapore told me basically the same thing, split the 12V with the IU. I've yet to remove the left side fairings to take a look. Did you end up splicing the IU wires to get the 12V? I'm considering tapping it from my numberplate light since it's been spliced for the Yoshimura fender eliminator.

  • Offline aashu   us

    • S1000R Pro  ‐    225
    • ***
      #25

    Offline aashu

    • S1000R Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 225
    • I like what I ride and I ride what I like
    • Bike: S1000R
    • City / Town: Scotch Plains,NJ
    • Country: us
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #25 on: July 03, 2015, 06:18:11 pm
    July 03, 2015, 06:18:11 pm
    DO NOT splice wires. Just buy bmw plug. It is very convenient and clean setup. I am running a gps, radar detector and phone on same output

  • Offline memphys   sg

    • S1000R Member  ‐    38
    • **
      #26

    Offline memphys

    • S1000R Member
    • **
    • Posts: 38
    • Bike: NSR250, S1000R
    • Country: sg
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #26 on: July 04, 2015, 11:30:12 am
    July 04, 2015, 11:30:12 am
    *Originally Posted by aashu [+]
    DO NOT splice wires. Just buy bmw plug. It is very convenient and clean setup. I am running a gps, radar detector and phone on same output

    My bike has the BMW plug, just got done with my DVR install.  :063: Swapping my front pole light bulbs out in a bit.

  • Offline fab   au

    • S1000R Member  ‐    17
    • **
      #27

    Offline fab

    • S1000R Member
    • **
    • Posts: 17
    • Bike: S1000R
    • City / Town: SYDNEY
    • Country: au
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #27 on: August 25, 2015, 02:08:29 am
    August 25, 2015, 02:08:29 am
    *Originally Posted by Tuppa [+]
    So here is my update .... spent most of Friday night removing panels and found neatest solution for fitting the device was to strap the electronic box to the frame next to left hand BMW connector under left hand fairing, and then feed the USB lead up through the frame and into the area under the tank cover.   All was looking great until I tried to replace the left hand fairing.  It would just fit over the box but wanted to squeeze the two leads (into and out of the box) tight against the frame. I could have cut a groove in the edge of the fairing in order to sit it over the leads but didn't want to do that so removed all of my evening's work and replaced the panels in time for a trip to my dealer, first thing on Saturday for a recall work.  A very helpful technician offered to fit the device for me and within half an hour it was done and dusted.  Lead from left hand connector to box sited very neatly under the tank cover and then USB outlet strapped to frame near front of tank. All working on the can-bus supply.  No more DIY for me - I am going to leave it to the experts and just ride in future.
    Hi Tuppa, do you have any pictures of how and where the box and the USB outlet are fitted?

  • Offline OKBMW   us

    • S1000R Pro  ‐    132
    • ***
      #28

    Offline OKBMW

    • S1000R Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 132
    • Bike: 2016 R1200RS
    • City / Town: Edmond, OK
    • Country: us
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #28 on: August 25, 2015, 04:13:52 am
    August 25, 2015, 04:13:52 am
    *Originally Posted by aashu [+]
    DO NOT splice wires. Just buy bmw plug. It is very convenient and clean setup. I am running a gps, radar detector and phone on same output

    Do you have a part number and an online provider to purchase from?

  • Offline BillB   us

    • S1000R Grand Master  ‐    2461
    • *****
      #29

    Offline BillB

    • S1000R Grand Master
    • *****
    • Posts: 2461
    • Bike: White '15 S1000R
    • City / Town: Cary, NC
    • Country: us
    Re: What's with the two OA canbus connectors?
    Reply #29 on: August 25, 2015, 01:22:10 pm
    August 25, 2015, 01:22:10 pm
    *Originally Posted by OKBMW [+]
    Do you have a part number and an online provider to purchase from?

    OKBMW look below:

    https://www.s1000r.co.uk/index.php/topic,1712.msg39601.html#msg39601